Comparison

UpToDate alternatives: DynaMed, BMJ Best Practice, ClinicalKey AI and Arkangel AI

UpToDate is a paid clinical reference, sold by individual or institutional subscription, with an Expert AI layer that answers from its own content. Common alternatives are DynaMed, BMJ Best Practice and ClinicalKey AI. Arkangel AI takes a different approach: ask in plain language and get answers that cite studies and guidelines, starting on a free plan.

Last updated:

As of October 2026

UpToDate vs other clinical references and Arkangel AI

Competitor information comes from the public sources linked in each cell, checked in October 2026. Terms change often, so confirm with each vendor before you decide.

UpToDate vs other clinical references and Arkangel AI. As of October 2026.
CriteriaArkangel AIUpToDate (Expert AI)DynaMed (Dyna AI)BMJ Best PracticeClinicalKey AI
Answers and sourcesAnswers cite the studies and guidelines behind them, so you can open and check each source.Expert-written topics; Expert AI answers only from UpToDate content.Source: wolterskluwer.comEvidence-based point-of-care topics; Dyna AI adds generative answers.Source: about.ebsco.comEvidence-based decision support on diagnosis, treatment and prevention, updated daily.Source: bestpractice.bmj.comConversational search grounded in Elsevier content, with linked citations.Source: elsevier.com
LanguagesEnglish, Spanish, Portuguese and French.Not stated in the vendor sources reviewed.Source: wolterskluwer.comNot stated in the vendor sources reviewed.Source: about.ebsco.comEnglish and Portuguese listed on the site.Source: bestpractice.bmj.comNot stated in the vendor sources reviewed.Source: elsevier.com
Availability and accessAvailable on the web and on WhatsApp; used by healthcare teams in Latin America and the United States, and in the EU under specific conditions with an Enterprise license.Expert AI launched in late 2025, first for Enterprise customers.Source: wolterskluwer.comInstitutional access; Dyna AI opened to individual subscribers in April 2025.Source: about.ebsco.comUsed in more than 100 countries, according to BMJ.Source: bestpractice.bmj.comInstitutional access; 90-day free trial for clinicians.Source: elsevier.com
Pricing modelFree plan with limited searches; Pro from US$20/month; Team and Enterprise plans.Source: arkangel.ai/pricingPaid subscription, individual or institutional.Source: wikipedia.org/wiki/UpToDatePaid subscription, individual or institutional.Source: dynamed.com/storePersonal or institutional subscription; free trial.Source: bestpractice.bmj.comInstitutional subscription through Elsevier sales.Source: elsevier.com
Security and complianceISO 27001:2022 certified; HIPAA compliance and a BAA on Enterprise plans.Source: compliance.arkangel.aiNot stated in the vendor sources reviewed.Source: wolterskluwer.comNot stated in the vendor sources reviewed.Source: about.ebsco.comNot stated in the vendor sources reviewed.Source: bestpractice.bmj.comStates HIPAA compliance where recognized by country regulators.Source: elsevier.com
Chart review for organizationsYes, for organizations: AI-assisted chart review for coding, quality and payer compliance, validated by your team.Not stated in the vendor sources reviewed.Source: wolterskluwer.comNot stated in the vendor sources reviewed.Source: about.ebsco.comNot stated in the vendor sources reviewed.Source: bestpractice.bmj.comNot stated in the vendor sources reviewed.Source: elsevier.com

When to choose which

UpToDate (Expert AI)

Your institution subscribes and you rely on expert-written topics; Expert AI answers from that content.

DynaMed (Dyna AI)

You want an evidence-based reference with an AI layer, through your hospital, library or an individual subscription.

BMJ Best Practice

You want step-by-step guidance on diagnosis and treatment, with English and Portuguese options.

ClinicalKey AI

Your institution licenses Elsevier content and wants conversational search with linked citations.

Arkangel AI

You want quick answers to specific questions with cited studies and guidelines, in four languages, from a free plan up to chart review for organizations.

Curated reference or AI search?

UpToDate, DynaMed and BMJ Best Practice are curated references: editors write and update topics, and AI layers such as Expert AI and Dyna AI answer from that curated content.

Arkangel AI searches studies and guidelines to answer a specific question and shows each source. The two approaches can complement each other: a reference for structured topics, an AI search tool for fast, cited answers.

Source: wolterskluwer.comSource: about.ebsco.comSource: bestpractice.bmj.com

How to get UpToDate access for free

UpToDate requires a subscription, but many hospitals, medical schools and libraries provide access to their staff and students. Free evidence sources include PubMed and national clinical guidelines.

Arkangel AI's free plan includes a limited number of cited searches, and paid plans start at US$20 per month.

Source: wikipedia.org/wiki/UpToDateSource: arkangel.ai/pricing

UpToDate alternatives: frequently asked questions

What are the best alternatives to UpToDate?

The most common alternatives are DynaMed, BMJ Best Practice and ClinicalKey AI, all curated or publisher-backed references, plus AI search tools such as OpenEvidence and Arkangel AI. Compare them on sources, languages, access and price. Arkangel AI answers in plain language with cited studies and guidelines and has a free plan.

Is there a free alternative to UpToDate?

Yes, with limits. PubMed and national clinical guidelines are free, and many institutions give staff free access to paid references. Arkangel AI has a free plan with limited searches and cited answers; OpenEvidence is free for verified U.S. clinicians. Paid Arkangel AI plans start at US$20 per month.

How much does UpToDate cost?

UpToDate is sold by individual or institutional subscription, and the price depends on the plan you choose. Check the current price with Wolters Kluwer or ask your hospital or school, which may already provide access. For reference, Arkangel AI publishes its prices: free plan, Pro from US$20 per month and Team from US$44 per user.

What is UpToDate Expert AI?

UpToDate Expert AI is the generative AI layer Wolters Kluwer launched in late 2025. It answers clinical questions using only UpToDate content and reached Enterprise customers first. If you don't have institutional access, tools such as Arkangel AI answer with cited studies and guidelines from a free plan.

Get cited answers to your clinical questions

Start on the free plan and check the sources behind every answer, or book a demo to see how teams use Arkangel AI for chart review.

Clinical judgment comes first

Arkangel AI supports professional judgment and does not replace it: check the cited sources before applying an answer. Product names belong to their owners; Arkangel AI is not affiliated with or endorsed by them.