For youFor businesses
Log inStart free
  1. Home
  2. /Doximity GPT alternative: Arkangel AI and other options in 2026

Comparison

Doximity GPT alternative: Arkangel AI and other options in 2026

Doximity GPT is now called Doximity Ask: a free clinical AI assistant for verified U.S. clinicians that Doximity describes as HIPAA-compliant. If you practice outside the U.S., want to work in Spanish, Portuguese or French, or need chart review for your organization, the best Doximity GPT alternatives are Arkangel AI, OpenEvidence and UpToDate Expert AI.

Start free

Last updated: 2026-11-01

As of November 2026

Doximity GPT (Doximity Ask) vs Arkangel AI, OpenEvidence and UpToDate

Competitor information comes from the public sources linked in each cell, read between October 10 and November 1, 2026. Terms change often, so confirm with each vendor before you decide.

Doximity GPT (Doximity Ask) vs Arkangel AI, OpenEvidence and UpToDate. As of November 2026.
CriteriaArkangel AIDoximity Ask (formerly Doximity GPT)OpenEvidenceUpToDate (Expert AI)ChatGPT (consumer plans)
Answers and sourcesAnswers cite the studies and guidelines behind them, so you can open and check each source.Answers come with their sources; physician experts review AI answers (PeerCheck); UpToDate shown alongside answers.Source: doximity.com (Doximity Ask)Source: doximity.comAnswers cite the medical literature.Source: openevidence.comExpert-written topics; Expert AI answers only from UpToDate content.Source: wolterskluwer.comGeneral-purpose chatbot; OpenAI warns that ChatGPT can make mistakes.Source: chatgpt.com
LanguagesEnglish, Spanish, Portuguese and French.Not stated in the vendor sources reviewed.Source: doximity.com (Doximity Ask)Not stated in the vendor sources reviewed.Source: openevidence.comNot stated in the vendor sources reviewed.Source: wolterskluwer.comMultilingual.Source: chatgpt.com
Availability and accessAvailable on the web and on WhatsApp; used by healthcare teams in Latin America and the United States, and in the EU under specific conditions with an Enterprise license.Verified U.S. clinicians, on desktop and mobile; also built into Doximity Scribe.Source: doximity.comSource: blog.doximity.com (Sep 14, 2026)Verified U.S. healthcare professionals; not available in the EU or UK since late April 2026.Source: openevidence.com/registerSource: telehealth.orgExpert AI launched in late 2025, first for Enterprise customers.Source: wolterskluwer.comBroadly available to consumers.Source: chatgpt.com
Pricing modelFree plan with limited searches; Pro from US$20/month; Team and Enterprise plans.Source: arkangel.ai/pricingFree for verified U.S. clinicians.Source: doximity.comSource: doximity.com (Doximity Ask)Free for verified U.S. healthcare professionals.Source: openevidence.comPaid subscription, individual or institutional.Source: wikipedia.org/wiki/UpToDateFree and paid individual plans.Source: openai.com/chatgpt/pricing
Security and complianceISO 27001:2022 certified; HIPAA compliance and a BAA on Enterprise plans.Source: compliance.arkangel.aiStates it is HIPAA-compliant.Source: doximity.com (Doximity Ask)States full HIPAA compliance, handles PHI under its standard BAA and reports SOC 2 Type II (Security).Source: openevidence.com/securityNot stated in the vendor sources reviewed.Source: wolterskluwer.comNo BAA for consumer plans; OpenAI offers a BAA only on eligible enterprise products.Source: help.openai.com
Chart review for organizationsYes, for organizations: AI-assisted chart review for coding, quality and payer compliance, validated by your team.Not stated in the vendor sources reviewed.Source: doximity.com (Doximity Ask)Not stated in the vendor sources reviewed.Source: openevidence.comNot stated in the vendor sources reviewed.Source: wolterskluwer.comNot stated in the vendor sources reviewed.Source: chatgpt.com

When to choose which

Arkangel AI

You want cited answers in English, Spanish, Portuguese or French, a free plan that does not require U.S. credentials, or chart review for your organization.

Doximity Ask (formerly Doximity GPT)

You are a verified U.S. clinician on Doximity and want a free assistant for clinical questions, letters, prior authorizations and notes with Doximity Scribe.

OpenEvidence

You are a verified U.S. clinician and want free, literature-based answers with citations.

UpToDate (Expert AI)

Your institution subscribes and you prefer expert-written topics, with AI answers drawn from that content.

ChatGPT (consumer plans)

Drafting or rewording text without patient data, checking every clinical claim yourself.

What Doximity GPT is now: Doximity Ask

Doximity renamed its assistant: "Ask, formerly known as DoxGPT" (Doximity blog, May 7, 2026). Doximity says every answer comes with its sources, that more than 12,000 physician experts review AI answers through PeerCheck, and that it drafts appeal letters, prior authorizations and patient communications.

Its home page lists Doximity Ask as "now with UpToDate" and "free for verified US clinicians". Since September 14, 2026, Ask also sits beside the generated note in Doximity Scribe.

Source: blog.doximity.com (May 7, 2026)Source: doximity.com (Doximity Ask)Source: doximity.comSource: blog.doximity.com (Sep 14, 2026)

Why clinicians look for a Doximity GPT alternative

Doximity's tools are built around verified U.S. clinicians. Physicians, residents and students in Latin America or other countries, teams that work in Spanish, Portuguese or French, and organizations that need chart review for coding, quality or payer compliance usually need a different tool.

Arkangel AI answers clinical questions with the studies and guidelines cited, in four languages, on the web and on WhatsApp. Organizations add AI-assisted chart review that their own team validates.

Source: doximity.com

Doximity GPT vs OpenEvidence

Both are free for verified U.S. clinicians and show the sources behind their answers. Doximity Ask lives inside the Doximity network with Scribe and Dialer and drafts letters and prior authorizations. OpenEvidence focuses on answers from the medical literature and states that it handles PHI under its standard BAA.

Neither is designed for clinicians without U.S. credentials. Arkangel AI is: its free plan needs no NPI.

Source: doximity.com (Doximity Ask)Source: openevidence.comSource: openevidence.com/security

Pricing at a glance

Arkangel AI: Free plan with limited searches; Pro from US$20/month; Team US$44 per user/month; Enterprise on contract. HIPAA compliance and a BAA are available on Enterprise plans.

Doximity Ask and OpenEvidence are free for verified U.S. clinicians. UpToDate is a paid individual or institutional subscription.

Source: arkangel.ai/pricingSource: doximity.comSource: wikipedia.org/wiki/UpToDate

Doximity GPT alternative: frequently asked questions

What happened to Doximity GPT?

Doximity renamed it. Doximity GPT, also called DoxGPT, is now Doximity Ask, according to Doximity's own blog post of May 7, 2026. It is part of Doximity's clinical AI suite with Scribe and Dialer, and since September 2026 Ask also appears beside the note inside Doximity Scribe.

Is Doximity GPT free?

Yes for verified U.S. clinicians: Doximity's home page says its tools are free for verified US clinicians, and the Ask page says it is free on desktop and mobile. Clinicians without U.S. verification need another option. Arkangel AI has a free plan with limited searches; Pro costs US$20 per month.

Is Doximity GPT HIPAA compliant?

Doximity describes Ask as HIPAA-compliant and secure by default (doximity.com, read November 2026). Before entering patient information in any tool, confirm the contract terms that cover your organization. Arkangel AI is ISO 27001:2022 certified and offers HIPAA compliance and a BAA on Enterprise plans; do not enter patient identifiers on its Free or Pro plans.

Can I use Doximity GPT outside the United States?

Doximity presents Ask as free for verified U.S. clinicians and does not describe access for clinicians outside the U.S. on the pages we reviewed. Arkangel AI is used by healthcare teams in Latin America and the United States, answers in English, Spanish, Portuguese and French, and its free plan does not require U.S. credentials.

Which is better, Doximity GPT or OpenEvidence?

It depends on your workflow. Doximity Ask suits clinicians who already use Doximity for calls, notes and letters. OpenEvidence suits clinicians who want free answers drawn from the medical literature. Both require U.S. verification. Arkangel AI offers cited answers without that requirement, plus chart review for organizations.

What are the best Doximity GPT alternatives?

The most common alternatives are Arkangel AI, OpenEvidence and UpToDate Expert AI. Choose OpenEvidence for free literature answers with U.S. credentials, UpToDate if your institution subscribes, and Arkangel AI for cited answers in four languages, a free plan without U.S. credentials, and chart review for organizations.

Try a medical AI that cites its sources

Start on the free plan and check the sources behind every answer, or book a demo to see chart review for your organization.

Start freeAsk on WhatsAppSee pricing

Related pages

OpenEvidence alternativeUpToDate alternativesChatGPT for doctorsMedical search AIAI for doctorsEvidence-based medicine with AIPricingFAQ

Clinical judgment comes first

Arkangel AI supports professional judgment and does not replace it: check the cited sources before applying an answer. Product names belong to their owners; Arkangel AI is not affiliated with or endorsed by them.

By continuing, you accept the terms and privacy policy.

© 2026 Arkangel AI.

Company

AboutPricingContactPrivacyTermsSecurity & compliance

Product

MedSearchFor insurersFor hospitalsFor pharmaBest AI for DoctorsMedical AI search engineAI for differential diagnosisAI clinical decision supportResearchUse CasesCalculatorsChangelog

Resources

BlogOpenEvidence alternativeUpToDate alternativesDoximity GPT alternativeBest AI medical scribesFagan nomogramPodcastUniversityNewsletterAffiliatesAI Readiness Assessment

Augmented Intelligence